Board of Directors and Committees

Meet SEF’s Board of Directors and Committee Chairs

Mosaic artwork in hallwayThe Scarborough Education Foundation was incorporated in December of 2011 by a group of 11 Scarborough residents who value high quality public education and they became the first Board of Directors for the Foundation.  Board members serve a three year term and terms are staggered so that each year 4 members will be up for re-election.  The Board of Directors meets on a monthly basis and the current members of the board are:

Bryan Shumway, President

Jack Murphy, Vice President

Betsy Chalmers, Secretary

Michelle DuEst, Treasurer

Andrea Biron

Jon Ducey

Andrea Fravert

Joe Ingream

Will Leadley

Girl working with her teacher at the teacher’s deskCurrently the Board of Directors has divided the work of the foundation up between 5 standing committees.  Those committees are as follows:

  • Governance: Chairperson – Andrea Fravert
  • Finance : Chair – Michelle DuEst
  • PR & Marketing: Chair –  Andrea Biron
  • Fundraising: Chair – Bryan Shumway
  • Grants: Chair – Jack Murphy

For more information, please email us at – to express your interest in volunteer opportunities, please use our Volunteer Form.